book suggestions from "pewbot"

I’ve put together my first hack using pewbot — suggestions based on an individual’s loan history.

By running a user’s loan history against the “also borrowed” database, it’s possible to build a list of titles that should be of interest to that borrower.

For example, if a student had borrowed the following 4 IT books:

     

…then the top 10 suggestions are:

     

     

 

Interestingly, when I ran the code against my loan history, it recommended me a batch of DVDs that I’d actually like to see 🙂

     

I’ll let some of the library staff beta test the suggestions and, if all goes well, we’ll add the code into the “My Account” section of the OPAC.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

