Amazon.co.uk Greasemonkey script

This Greasemonkey script (based on Carrick Mundell‘s script) for the Firefox web browser adds details of (and links to) our library holdings to the Amazon.co.uk site:

To use the script, you’ll need to do the following:

1) Make sure you have the latest version of Firefox installed

2) Go to http://greasemonkey.mozdev.org/ and install the Greasemonkey extension

3) Close down all your Firefox browser windows and restart it

4) You should now see a little smiling Greasemonkey at the bottom right hand corner of the browser

5) Now go to http://webcat.hud.ac.uk/firefox/, click on the hudamazon.user.js script, and then click on the “Install” button.

6) Now go to Amazon.co.uk and search for some books!

~ o ~

For reference, here are the various messages that might appear:

1) Available…
Copies of the item are available.

2) Available in electronic format…
Access is available to an electronic version of the item.

3) Due back…
The item is currently on loan.

4) Other editions of this title are available…
We don’t have this specific edition of the item, but we do have others – click on the link to show them all.

5) ISBN not found…
The Amazon ISBN doesn’t match anything on our catalogue, but you can click on the link to start a title keyword search.

34 comments
  1. Dave, this and other stuff you’ve been working with is fascinating. I’ve been trying today to modify your script to do the same for Amazon (US) and can’t get it to work. It works fine using my local catalog and pointing to Amazon (UK). What am I missing?

  2. Davey P said:

    Hi Steve

    I had to make quite a few changes (especially in the “insertLink” section) to make it work with the UK site.

    Probably the easiest thing to do is to compare it with Carrick’s original script (which is designed for the US site) to see what’s different.

    Hope that helps!

  3. Thanks to Lorcan Dempsey for spotting the script is broken (due to a change in the the Amazon UK HTML).

    I’ve fixed the script and a new version is available here.

  4. Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?

    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing many months of
    hard work due to no data backup. Do you have any solutions to
    protect against hackers?

  5. Definitely satisfied with your manner of composing really, something tells me you could be a
    master! ? !

  6. Amazing things here. I am very happy to see your
    article. Thanks a lot and I’m looking ahead to contact you. Will you please drop me a e-mail?

  7. Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all of us you really know what you’re talking about! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally talk over with my web site =). We may have a link trade contract among us

  8. Hey! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post
    reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept chatting
    about this. I will forward this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  9. Good post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon every day.
    It’s always exciting to read content from other authors and use a little something from other websites.

  10. Raleigh said:

    Hi there! I understand this is sort of off-topic however I had to ask.
    Does building a well-established blog such as yours take
    a lot of work? I’m brand new to blogging however I do write in my diary on a daily basis. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and thoughts
    online. Please let me know if you have any suggestions or
    tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

  11. Otilia said:

    I will right away snatch your rss as I can not to find your
    e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do
    you have any? Please allow me recognize so that I could subscribe.
    Thanks.

  12. Marian said:

    Wow, marvelous weblog layout! How long have you been blogging for?

    you made running a blog glance easy. The overall
    glance of your site is fantastic, as neatly as the
    content!

  13. My brother recommended I might like this website.

    He was entirely right. This post actually made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had
    spent for this info! Thanks!

  14. Donetta said:

    Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?

    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog shine.
    Please let me know where you got your design. Many thanks

  15. Helpful information. Lucky me I found your site by accident, and I’m shocked why this coincidence didn’t took place earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

  16. Download Music Free: http://www.oron.se
    Psychedelic Punk Rap Reggae Rock Rock And Roll
    Soul Soundtrack Techno Thrash Metal Top 40
    Trip-Hop Vocal folk Folk-Rock Folklore Freestyle

  17. These exercises will build up muscles in the thigh and buttocks.

    Discover additional about developing your Biceps and triceps by way
    of completing beneficial workouts and maintaining a appropriate
    diet regime. And the best thing about dumbbells is that they can also sub in for almost every single barbell move, so you won’t need a barbell or plates.

  18. Analisa said:

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get set up? I’m assuming having
    a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% certain.
    Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Kudos

  19. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic however I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing a blog post or vice-versa?
    My site goes over a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you’re interested feel free to send me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Fantastic blog by the way!

  20. Great an impressive report with regard to Search engines, together with really enjoy
    picture image inside the infographic from the items is effective.

    Plainly home has become one for this most detrimental companies going through
    web 2 and so article content promotion. As part of their copy and consequently
    blogging, agencies look into overtime to dispose of their services or maybe tell the public concerning their
    triumphs so it renders the majority of us seem to be dreadful.

    To be honest which often viewers would prefer free,
    good critical information. They might examine things, community, the
    main process, and learning to make a wise investment.
    I agree which a 7 steps to excel is to try to bring viewers what they really want:
    added training and less marketing.

  21. Fantastic website. Plenty of useful information here.
    I am sending it to a few pals ans additionally sharing in delicious.
    And certainly, thanks to your sweat!

  22. Heath said:

    Today, there are two popular choices in grilling
    namely gas grills and charcoal grills. Unlike any other types of
    grill, like charcoal grill or a smoker grill, you must clear all the woods and charcoal each time you clean it.
    Get rid of the debris that is clogging it and test the igniter
    again.

  23. Shirley said:

    You can pick up a chicken, burger or even a steak and grill the food while parked at a roadside rest area, campground,
    or other attraction. NG in the environment is a “greenhouse gas”, but propane is not classified
    as such. Another big difference between a portable grill and a
    regular one is that the portable grill uses a small propane
    cylinder rather than a conventional five-gallon propane tank.

  24. Kimberly said:

    I was very pleased to find this site. I want to to thank yoou for
    ones time just for this fantastic read!!
    I definitely appreciated every bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out
    new information on your web site.

  25. web page said:

    I enjoy the efforts maybe you have thrown into this, thankyou for your great blog articles.

  26. Your body should always portray a confident image and your hands should be flexible and never stiff.

    r Klavier in vier Teilen’ (music for piano in four parts), which consists of three very brief movements among which is embedded a lengthy set of variations on a rather extended
    and ambiguous theme. Many traditional scrapbookers resist the temptation to
    experiment with digital scrapping because of
    some prevalent myths about going digital.

  27. Wow, this piece of writing is pleasant, my sister is analyzing such things, therefore I am going to tell her.

Leave a Reply

